Happy Halloween!!

Hope you all had a spooky day!  🙂

As promised, here are some more pictures of my decorations. I was very happy with the way everything turned out! The only thing I would have changed, is finishing the haunted house in the centrepiece.  But I can finish that next year, (..again with the procrastination, lol).

The whole display;

image

I would say the easiest, least expensive, and most effective Halloween decoration is the strechy spiderwebs, which you could just stretch over your regular decor (as I did with this fall flower arrangement), to give it a spooky effect;

image

I had a lot of fun stretching the webs all over! 

image

The bats were (patiently) cut out by myself from black cardstock; 

image

I attached the bats together with black wire, which I first wrapped around a pencil to make curly;

image

The banner is made from The series of Unfortunate Events book, The Carnivorous Carnival (a children’s book, what a title!!). I like recycling books this way, they make unique bunting. In this case I accidentally had purchased two of these books thrifting, so one ended up in the crafting pile and was perfect for Halloween! 

image

I started with the first page, beginning of chapter one;

image

And coincidentally ended on the first page of chapter two! Which had a creepy(ish) monster drawing that helped tie the whole banner together; 

image

In the centre (on a cake stand), sat two haunted houses, one which still needs doors and windows, both hand made by myself from recycled products(oatmeal box, paper towel roll and other cardboard); 

image

Then of course,  every holiday display is not complete without a framed printable subway art (which I downloaded free here);

image

The clear skull is an empty Crystal Skull Vodka bottle that I have been using as is, as a vase. Grabbed it from its current hom because it fit in perfectly for Halloween! 

image

Another view from the opposite side;

image

The black netting was purchased at the dollarstore. The ribbon I had on stash. I  tacked it to the wall and fiddled until it looked right leaving the ends of everything to hang in a scary mess;

image

Kind of reminds me of a whiches hair 🙂

I never noticed until I looked at the pictures that the banner wasn’t really centered;

image

But we still enjoyed it none the less!!

Halloween night was less to rave about, as it had rained all day and into the night! (And I somehow didn’t bring out our umbrellas,  because I’m a prepared Mom like that, lol), but I was able to.get a few pictures of everyone in costume; 

image

Nia was a pumpkin by day, and a lamb by night;

Kaio was a dragon (and thanks to my last minute shopping, I picked his costume up at Salvation Army the afternoon of Halloween for 50% and a total of $2.50 – win!);

image

I even scribbled some whiskers on my face to surprise Nia;

image

I would have taken more pictures if my camers battery wasn’t too low to use flash!

How was your Halloween? ! Did you decorate your house? Inside or out? Were you a trick or treat guide? Or passing out candy?

Leave a Reply

