Happy Thanksgiving!

HappyThanksgiving to any of my Canadian followers!

Too much is going on this year! so much I didn’teven realize that Thanksgiving was coming until last monday :/ So we didn’t have any special Turkey dinner. That’s ok with me, because it’s my first holiday as a vegetarian and I would be worried all the yummy food would tempt me!!!!

To curb my enthusiasm, and get my “Turkey” fix, I decided to sculpt a few mini items of the Thanksgiving nature. The Turkey was the only thing I took a WIP picture for;

image

I’ve been avoiding those types of pictures because I find it slows me down especially when the lighting is bad, of my phone is dead, I just don’t even do anything lol so especially with the Undersized Urbanite contest, I’m going to just worry about taking progress pictures, rather than step by step.

But more on that another day! Back to Turkey time! I made a pie, cake and some dishes (to later be filled with food), all from air dry clay. Which i enjoyed a lot more than working qith polymer clay. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that it hardened as I was sculpting and just a finger tip of water helped bring it back to life just enough that I could tweak little parts here and there. Polymer clay warms up with your hands and turns mushy, so you need to take breaks from making things (or I do at least) so they aren’t as….mushy, (lol, I’m not to familiar with the technical terms here, feel free to correct me). I do need to work on my skills for making dishes and etc, because as you will notice, most are pretty crooked!! Here are.all the items before I painted them;

image

Miniature thanksgiving WIP.

Paint drying. The colours remind me ao much of fall and the cooler crisp weather to come šŸ™‚

image

Miniature thanksgiving WIP

Here are the peices I feel turned out best;

image

Mini thanksgiving dinner.

The Turkey looks a lot darker in the picture than it actually is in real life. Not the best paint job, but not the worst. šŸ˜‰

Here is everything all together. The bowl and serving dish I thought I would carve a bit and straighten out, but then I was worried I would break it so I left them as is;

image

Mini thanksgiving dinner. It's all a part of the learning process šŸ˜‰

Feel free to laugh with me at the severity of crooked-ness. šŸ™‚ The bowl has mashed potatoes and the serving dish has green beans and corn (or at least, that’s what I was trying to make if look like, lol).

I would have loved to have made more things like a gravy boat, and it would have bern nice to be able to put some more effort into it all…but I will have to wait until next year, (I don’t want to spend too much time on this mini project!. That’s probably the best part of this Turkey dinner! Next thanksgiving I won’t have to worry about making another meal (in miniature at least….). I just have to add onto this one, since mini food never expires šŸ˜‰

One comment

  1. that looks delicious šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

