Real dollhouse miniature flowers; 1″, 1/2″ and 1/4″ scale

I finally let my creativity flow. I’m not sure if this happens to all creative people, but sometimes I will have so many ideas flowing through my head that I can never actually get to producing anything,  I’m too busy thinking lol. I had a time sensitive idea recently that involved real flowers, not something easily stashed away, so I had to make them as soon as I could.

We found some clippings from a tree on a walk one day and brought it home because it smelled beautiful. I put them in water, and obviously, over time, they started drooping and dying. However,  the managed to retain most of their shape and when I looked closely they made the most perfect miniature flowers! 

image

Dried flowers for making Miniature flowers

I also had recently picked up some beads that were suitable vases, so I decided rather than sit on the idea for months or years, I would just do it.

I cut the flower from the branches. They aren’t dry, just drooping down,  yellowed and soft. I sprayed rhem wih a matte spray sealwr to try and hwlp preserve them over time. I’m not sure if this will work,  but it’s worth a shot! I used tea as dirt and then stuck the stems of the flowers into the bead hole and made these;

image

1

image

1

image

image

1


image

1

image

1

image

1

It was so simple and fun that I ended up making 60 I’m various beads I had stashed, (in 1″ scale) while watching Despicable Me with Nia.

I also made 12 in half inch scale (which I have yet to photograph) and a whole bunch of tiny quarter scale ones! LOOK HOW SMALL;

image

Quarter scale miniature flower arrangement in vase.

image

image

image

image

Most of these have ended up in my eBay shop, one in quarter scale (the purple set) has already sold! I hope to eventually list them all, but I’m waiting to see if anyone even wants them. Lol. These “real” (they are real just not alive! No water needed!), dollhouse miniature plants will be my first handmade listing(s)! 🙂

I wish I had the courage to sell on Etsy.I’m still working on the little details of that. The mobile app isnt as easy to list from as eBay either. It has been a dream of mine to have my own Miniatures shop for a while now, (over a year). I am just finally getting the motivation to make all the things I have planned to make and still trying to figure out where I can find the time to sell there!!

Leave a Reply

