Undersized Urbanite: Work in progress; Quarter scale kitchen

since I’m sooooooo behind on updating after my inability to upload my thousands of pictures, I have decided to group the stuff I wanted to share into “work in progress” posts. Which will just basically be photo-dumps of the work I’ve done lately.

I can’t believe how fast time is going by! I’m getting worried about the deadline because of course a runny nose type sickness is running through our house. This means frequently waking babies and not much mini time for this Mama…but fingers crossed I will stay full of energy and sickness free this week!

Anyways, here is the first “work in progress” post, highlighting what I have finished in the kitchen, after my stove fail;

"Granite" countertop made from polymer clay.

“Granite” countertop made from polymer clay.

I decided I didn't like the angled corner cupboards because it made too much room for error while trying to match the upper cabinets. I trimmed them and made them square corners.

I decided I didn’t like the angled corner cupboards because it made too much room for error while trying to match the upper cabinets. I trimmed them and made them square corners.

I added a sink by cutting out some of the clay. This was actually a lot easier than I thought. The sink is from the bathroom items I bought at Model Builders Supply a few weeks back.

I added a sink by cutting out some of the clay. This was actually a lot easier than I thought. The sink is from the bathroom items I bought at Model Builders Supply a few weeks back.

Sink in place. Added some decorative peices to help cover up the wrinkles that were created from changing the counter shape.

Sink in place. Added some decorative peices to help cover up the wrinkles that were created from changing the counter shape.

a WIP pic of deciding the layout for the upper cabinets. I also realized here that I really don't like the white appliances. I really wanted stainless steel!

a WIP pic of deciding the layout for the upper cabinets. I also realized here that I really don’t like the white appliances. I really wanted stainless steel!

I painted the sink silver, and couldn't help myself and painted the fridge and stove as well. The stove still needs touching up in this picture.

I painted the sink silver, and couldn’t help myself and painted the fridge and stove as well. The stove still needs touching up in this picture.

The "doors" are carstock. Gave everything a coat of white paint.

The “doors” are carstock. Gave everything a coat of white paint.

I made a reaaaaaally tiny polymer clay snake from antique gold colour. Then I used an exacto knife to cut off little hardware for the cabinet doors.

I made a reaaaaaally tiny polymer clay snake from antique gold colour. Then I used an exacto knife to cut off little hardware for the cabinet doors.

Close up of the sink in place. Still need the curtians around that window!!

Close up of the sink in place. Still need the curtians around that window!!

Close up of sink. The faucet is made from a piece of craft wire.

Close up of sink. The faucet is made from a piece of craft wire.

Started making some kitchen printables I had stashed. I decided on flour because I think I will do an infamous "baking cookies" scene in this kitchen. Since all the cupboards are closed, there really isn't any other oppourtunity to show off any small objects!

Started making some kitchen printables I had stashed. I decided on flour because I think I will do an infamous “baking cookies” scene in this kitchen. Since all the cupboards are closed, there really isn’t any other oppourtunity to show off any small objects!

Here is a rough set up of the baking scene accessories I have. All made by myself from clay. I think I want to make another kitchen mixer, this one is a little chubby now that I look at it with everything else. :)

Here is a rough set up of the baking scene accessories I have. All made by myself from clay. I think I want to make another kitchen mixer, this one is a little chubby now that I look at it with everything else. 🙂

Here is an overview of part of the house that includes the kitchen, as it stands now. Still needs lots of work!

Here is an overview of part of the house that includes the kitchen, as it stands now. Still needs lots of work!

 

Leave a Reply

