Undersized Urbanite Update: Week 7

Week 7?!?!?!!!!….and that’s only the weeks I’ve been counting posts!  Time really does fly…

I am having an emotional week thinking about this…and not in regarss to the UUDC, lol. Just life. I can’t believe mt baby girl will be turning THREE tomorrow. And my baby boy will be turning ONE just two weeks later!! Sigh. If you are a mother, I need not say more.

On to the dollhouse stuff!  This week, I have been trucking along. After seeing the HBS creatin contest kit, and still waiting for the 2013 spring fling kit reveal, I realized, I have a lot of planned projects this year, and that’s just mini related! Not to mention the Orchid should be finished before I get crazy in another 1″ project…So there is no time to waste!

I glued down the floors, and as you will also notice, I glued in the wallpaper.

So far my favourite room. The dining room. I would never have this wallpaper IRL, but I like it in here!

So far my favourite room. The dining room. I would never have this wallpaper IRL, but I like it in here!

Kitchen. Plain. Sans floors still. Not sure if I previously mentioned that I switched the windows between the dining rooom (previous picture) and the kitchen. The longer window in the kitchen would have made counters difficult, this makes more sense!

Kitchen. Plain. Sans floors still. Not sure if I previously mentioned that I switched the windows between the dining rooom (previous picture) and the kitchen. The longer window in the kitchen would have made counters difficult, this makes more sense!

The main room. The living room. I'm not 100% a fan of this colour. Its TOO coral. It is a nice colour..but not for a whole room I don't think? Debating...

The main room. The living room. I’m not 100% a fan of this colour. Its TOO coral. It is a nice colour..but not for a whole room I don’t think? Debating…

….is that really all I did?!?!?!…..I’m actually going to call this the least productive week ever! Although,  technically this is a short week since I’m trying to get back into a Friday posting routine, (my last UUDC post was Monday.. And I’m writing this Thursday night of course), for two days work – one day I actually went to bed at 8 pm, so technically only one day of work – ok, so for one nights work (LOL), that’s pretty good! bahaha. Really the least productive I’ve been for a while.

So! That means big plans for this week! I would like to try to get some baseboards and moulding in. Im already having issues deciding how to draw the perfect archway trim..

Hard to cut this shape so perfectly...

Hard to cut this shape so perfectly…

I freehand cut this one, and while I’m sure it might not even be noticed in the end, there are some wonky spots on top. I’m going to have to probably put a nights worth of work into drawing some sort of template….not quite sure how to approach that yet, but I will learn through trial and error!

Once I have the trim in, I can consider the inside “finished” as far as decorating is concerned. Then I might move onto the outside. I cant decide which approach to take for the siding portion of my exterior. On my other quarter scale cottage, I used skinny sticks, aka coffee stir sticks, stuck horizontally. For my 1″ scale room box. I have siding made of cardstock….(I would take pictures if I didn’t have so little time!) I think I like the cardstock option better, with the layering effect, as the painted  so in that case, I’ll have to wait until the next time I escape get out to run errands. That could be weeks. Lol.

In the meantime, I did recieve some of the furniture kits I ordered for this house. A wonderful site, By Sharon Miniatures, has wonderful laser cut furniture kits, and right now they are only $5 each with free shipping! So naturally, I ordered some. The detail in laser cut wood cannot compare to what I would be able to make (at least I think, because I’ve never really tried in this scale, except the kitchen seen in this post). Here is a peek at a chair kit;

Chair kit from By Sharon Miniatures. That is my hand in the background to give you an idea of size!!

Chair kit from By Sharon Miniatures. That is my hand in the background to give you an idea of size!!

I was shaking just reading the instructions! As if my body already knows that these kits are SO tiny!! Extra legs are included in most kits and I understand why!  Imagine loosing this while you are building!?!?!

I have more kits on the way, from Karin Cary miniatures. I also have a kitchen and bedroom set on my wishlist for next month from Debbie Young. Still having giggles over the tiny size of everything!! Just ridiculous almost! I’m going to have quite the fun putting these together! And you’ll hear all about that when the time comes. 🙂

See you soon!

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

