Laundry Cart turns into Kitchen — this will make sense!

I had this amazing laundry cart from the Great Canadian Superstore, (Presidents Choice, or PC Brand). I normally love their stuff, but after buying, putting together and having it break within seconds, twice, I had to let it go. This was sad for me because it had three compartments to sort your loads and wheels, which would make it a lot easier for me to take my laundry to the elevator (we are literally the last unit in the hall by the stairs), down to the basement (we are on the 6th floor, but not like I have to use a pulley system or anything to move the elevator, just thought I’d point out the distance I am travelling :D), and then down the hall to the laundry room.

Big sad face!!

But, at the same time, I decided to take that money and put it towards something else (since that was supposedly a Christmas gift — at least that’s how I jusified it). I have three more furniture sets on my checklist for the critters. Okay, maybe there is this one double stroller set I’d also love, but really, there are only these three lots that I would need to “complete” my Calico Critter home. So since I had the money in my pocket, that was technically from my christmas gift, (I had decided my laundry can be brought down on a new sleek dolly I recieved from MIL — who needs to spend $40 on a cart thats going to keep breaking!?!), and I went and checked two of the three (or four) sets off of my wish list.

Caico Critter Deluxe Kitchen and Living Room sets.

Caico Critter Kozy Kitchen and Deluxe Living Room sets.

I opened the Kitchen set first, since I already have a semi- living room – I’m actually already considering taking that one back — but we will see. I wouldn’t mind a full set with a long sofa (I’ve only seen the one that matches my set once on eBay and it was $16 and I obviously let it go! — but thats too much for just one couch for me! — for calico critters at least, Lina might deserve more 😉 ).

The one thing I really admire about these toys is the attention to detail. I’m talking every. little. drawer. opens. Look at this hutch.

Calico Critters Koxy Kitchen hutch

Calico Critters Koxy Kitchen hutch

All the drawers and cupboards open!!

All the drawers and cupboards open!!

And we even have a sliding....what-cha-ma-call-it thingy! LOL I'm too tired to think of what this is called, suggestions welcome in comments ;)

And we even have a sliding….what-cha-ma-call-it thingy! LOL I’m too tired to think of what this is called, suggestions welcome in comments 😉

There was a carpet included in the set, as pictured on the box, it doesn’t fit into the room (of the house I have at least),

Giant teal Carpet -- and sorry if you just Googled that hoping for some real life decor inspiration!

Giant teal Carpet — and sorry if you just Googled that hoping for some real life decor inspiration!

but I could see how it would be used if you (or the child,who this is intended for, were playing with it, LOL) were to just set the kitchen on its own, it would work nicely.

Using the carpet for out of house play.

Using the carpet for out of house play. See also, table and chairs which were included but never got their own picture because, well, boooring.

There was an oven in the set as well;

Calico Critter Koxy Kitchen oven.

Calico Critter Koxy Kitchen oven.

Opens, in true Calico Critter detailed style.

Opens, in true Calico Critter detailed style.

I already have one that came with the house as part of the “gift set” furniture.

The "other" oven.

The “other” oven.

I like the look of the black one more, it’s sleek and modern! 🙂 But we will have to wait and see which one fits better! The sink included with the set also has incredible details. Right down to the drain pipe.

Mini drain pipe!

Mini drain pipe!

Even the little drawers open!! Those were the “big peices” which were included. After lots of playing around…

Not fitting....

Not fitting….

The problem area.

The problem area.

Maybe the other stove?...

Maybe the other stove?…

Finally fitting?

Finally fitting?

I finally found a method of furniture placement that might work. That is if I choose for this room to even be the kitchen? Hadn’t thought to try another one! Still a little tight! Which is funny, because when I first read a review about the house someone had said that the rooms were a lot smaller than the other homes, (but it was worth it if you got it on sale with the gift set). When I first got it, I thought the rooms were BIG! Because I didn’t have counters, or a hutch…or a double oven…LOL! So I’m assuming in the other houses, the rooms are a lot more deep to accomodate for the furniture sets. But I won’t know about that one, if ever, for a long time!…..

and after all that, I forgot the most important part of any kitchen… the fridge.

Calico Critter Kozy Kitchen fridge.

Calico Critter Kozy Kitchen fridge.

Which will most likely end up squished on this wall over by the windows. Leaving the centre open for the kitchen table and chairs….? In my imaginary space that doesn’t exisit (these rooms really are small!!).

There was a super super cute mother and daughter apron set and oven mitt also incuded. (I believe the pink things are napkins?).Mother Ellewood and her daughter were happy to model for us. 🙂 They just want to know when the cookies will arrive!

Calico Critters Kozy Kitchen set; Apron for mother and daughter, oven mitt and placemats.

Calico Critters Kozy Kitchen set; Apron for mother and daughter, oven mitt and placemats.

Reading to bake!

Reading to bake!

Mini chef in the making. :)

Mini chef in the making. 🙂

Mama's on stand-by with the oven mitt! Eagar to bake!

Mama’s on stand-by with the oven mitt! Eagar to bake!

Lucky for them, the set included all of the goodies; almost everything a critter would need to bake!

Rolling pin and other baking utensils. Pans, a bowl, a kitchen scale and of course, cookies!

Rolling pin and other baking utensils. Pans, a bowl, a kitchen scale and of course, cookies!

Close up.

Close up.

The little trays fit only 4 cookies and fit right into the oven, of course!

The little trays fit only 4 cookies and fit right into the oven, of course!

There was a lot more little goodies than I was expecting to see for one night. Take a look at all these mini food items!

A nice grocery trip! Ice cream, water, milk, butter, cheese, lemons, tomatoes, mushrooms, cucumbers, carrots, lettuce and a bowl of ice cream!!! :)

A nice grocery trip! Ice cream, water, milk, butter, cheese, lemons, tomatoes, mushrooms, cucumbers, carrots, lettuce and a bowl of ice cream!!! 🙂

Mother Ellewood is teaching her daughter about the importance of eating her vegetable ones. Even the ones that might look yucky, like mushrooms.

Mother Ellewood is teaching her daughter about the importance of eating her vegetable ones. Even the ones that might look yucky, like mushrooms.

Love how they fit right into their little hands! :) :)

Love how they fit right into their little hands! 🙂 🙂

Plates, basket, and a knife and cutting board for those veggies!

Plates, basket, and a knife and cutting board for those veggies!

I had to put a penny beside one picture because I actually cant get over how small everything is. It’s also for those of you who aren’t familiar with these “toys”. When I measure, it does come pretty close (some items) to 1″ scale? So maybe about.com was right about that part! Their furniture is wayy to small for that scale though, I’ll tell you that!

More toast and another toaster! (I already have one which was included in the house accessories)

More toast and another toaster! (I already have one which was included in the house accessories)

Plates, basket, and a knife and cutting board for those veggies!

Plates, basket, and a knife and cutting board for those veggies!

That was all the mini goodness I unravelled for one night! I will be coming back oh so soon to show the living room, that is if I decide I am going to open it! Still not sure about that one yet.

See you soon!

Rebecca

One comment

  1. wow, I am amazed at the detail of the set, its not only cute but well made 😉

Leave a Reply

