Stop Starting with S’s!

Not sure if anyone has noticed, but my last 5 posts have begun with the letter “s”. If you don’t believe me look at the right sidebar at my recent posts. I assure you this was not on purpose, but I found it interesting enough to share. πŸ™‚

I am struggling in the living room (of the dollhouse — no one call EMS!!). I am not loving the colours. I am finding it too dark. But the idea of changing up the wallpaper again…is not fun. That would make it the FIFTH time I changed the colour in this room! (Once was blue, then cream, dark green paper, then painted white, then the current brown paper….please no not again…o_O). Before I get too crazy and start ripping or painting anything, I thought I would show you what my other options could be…perhaps you have a little input?

So, here is the room right now. Nice and brown…and cream..

Whole room overview. Suggestions for the super white door? I am not sure it’s working with my decor…

It’s too brown (dark) and cream (light) for me… I considered changing the trim (which is clearly missing in this photo) toΒ  a more warm white (as it reads on the bottle) but that looked horrible and I’ve already covered it up.. Plus, shouldn’t trim be consistent throughout a house? are there houses with different coloured trims in different rooms I should probably do some more research….the bedroom has cream, and I’m pretty sure that the kitchen and dining room will as well, as the wainscoting is currently cream…so warm white would probably throw my OCD off completely..

Anyhoo, back to the living room, especially the door, and the cream entertainment unit…then the cream trim, just feel too light in contrast with the dark brown paper. I wamted a cozy living room, but without a fireplace glow, this place just seems to dark?…and yet light? Are you with me here? lol

Other options I am considering are to replace (again) the wallpaper — which I would really like to avoid if I can.. or paint the unit in a different colour. I chose to go with the latter first to see what it would do for me..

You can hardly notice a difference, except that it just looks…worse. 😦

…verdict is, not much. I actually hate it and almost feel as I ruined it.

So…I guess I have to change the stinking wallpaper…again. As always, it seems worth it to me, since I don’t want to not like my own dolhouse. Also, I wanted to replace the window/door trim anyways, as the original from the kit is broken from me chaning my mind too much! Figures…lol. I’m going to have to change the background to the entertainment unit as well. So, I’m almost starting over.

What else is new?! Just another day in the life of Rebecca! Can never make up my mind! I have many other projects on my list too, and I’d really like to finish this one so I can get started with them πŸ™‚

Updates to come!

 

 

8 comments

  1. Hello Rebecca,
    I like the brown and cream color scheme. If it is too boring as well as being too dark, consider just changing the color under the stairs inside that nice area for the tv. Give it a splash of color. Also think about how you want the room to feel and what kind of furniture will be going in there. A cottage feel, contemporary, victorian.
    Yes in some very nice houses I have seen the baseboards match the walls so they would not stand out in the overall design.
    You are coming right along!
    Good job!,
    conny

    1. Thanks Conny! I think splashes of colour will help loads as well, so that will come with the furnishing I suppose. πŸ™‚
      I am thinking that this house is a modern cottage with a sort of vintage-thrift-antique (not to be confused with pink and blue shabby chic!) look. The brown will have to be spruced up with various colourful findings. I think that is one of the reasons I chose it, secretly knowing it would be a nice neutral background to house a room full of odds and edds.
      Thanks as always for reading, always enjoy your comments
      πŸ™‚

  2. Keep in mind the color on the walls is going to be broken up when you put in furniture, accessories, wall art, and curtains. I agree it’s your house and you should like it, but the brown looks good as far as I’m concerned. Same with the door, it won’t stand out as a big white thing once everything is in. If you look at the picture with the tv set up, you don’t notice the wall color. That’s good, it doesn’t look out of place at all, your eyes are drawn to the built-in and accessories.

    1. These are the responses I was hoping to get! I just wanted to hear someone else tell me that it looked ok!

      I think it gets hard after a while of looking at the same thing over and over and over…. as oppose to when you visit blogs or the greenleaf gallery and see things for the first and (sometimes) only time. At least for me that is, and I’m not sure why, I just blame everything on the fact that I am a Gemini πŸ˜‰

  3. Jo-Anne Gannon · · Reply

    I like everything exactly as it is! Leave it be!!

  4. I tried to email you but it bounced back :/ My contact info is on the right bar of my blog, I have flower kit info for you!!

    1. I must update my contact info I guess! I will send you an e-mail using the contact info on your blog πŸ˜€

  5. Hello
    How exciting, clever that you use the space under the stairs and you’re doing a Built furniture. Well made.

    Hugs
    Wyrna

Leave a Reply

