Embroidery Fail….

Not that I like sharing all these fails with you, but I think it is important for everyone who ventures into any (new) hobby to learn that not everyone is perfect, or maybe I am talking only to myself here? LOL. But honestly,y especially in the miniatures world, you look around and see so much amazing work, then try it for yourself (for the first time) and it just doesn’t look as pretty…or something… It’s nice to see someone elses work gone wrong. It’s like when I rant on Twitter about how my toddler is driving me crazy doing _______ and 10 people respond saying theirs does the exact same thing. Just makes you feel better knowing you aren’t the only one. I am not alone here right?… I thought so.

Two of my favourite blogs, Otterine and Casey’s Mini’s, have inspired me lately to start exploring in the world of thread. Otterine has recently finished a beautiful needlepoint rug, the Navajo rug and has started another, the Blue Medallion that is looking just as nice! Casey is always dabbling in different handiwork. She, like the best of us, has a tendency to get sidetracked and does all sorts of things I wouldn’t know where to point you to first, but this recent post about blackwork was what really made me say, “pass the needle and thread!”.

I am currently hoarding stashing 18 and 14 ct Ivory (?) Aida cloth from previous cross stitch projects. I could not find any suitable free patterns for these counts of cloth that would be able to convert into a rug, or anything mini and I wasn’t really feeling up to charting my own (even though I found free charts here). However, I also had tucked away a shirt that was passed down to me from my neighbor that was a wonderful linen, but too big for me to wear, (lots of material for projects though!).

I cut a piece, found a free embroidery pattern. And traced it on to the linen with a black pen. I knew I shouldn’t have used a normal ball point pen, but I also was just testing the (embroidery) waters with this project, seeing if it was something I would be interested in putting in a relative amount of effort for. So I wasnt picky, just wanted to see what I could do.

After working for over 4 hours (not straight, but totalled) I learned a lot….like when your thread balls up at the back.of your work, it’s not okay to leave it (not sure why I thought this would ever be okay..but I am that frazzled mom type, so its expected at times..). Obviously thin linen will show your tangled work on the back. And I have never seen a finished piece of embroidery with tangles on the back…have you? (really, what was I thinking??!!) I used a basic whip stitch because that’s all I know how to do..lol. When I started my first leaf of the pattern (also the one I traced most horribly) I realized that I could handle the technique, but I had to put a lot more effort into tracing and being careful with my stitching. A magnifying glass might also be useful considering how small the weave (on this particular linen) was! I think I counted over 50 hpi. I lost count to be honest when I realized it was over 32 and tiny enough for mini scale.

Here is what the project looks like now;

Not bad for my first time! 😀

I have abandoned it…It will probably be trashed because it cannot even really “become” anything, (I don’t think??)

But now I know more than I did when I started, like to get the right pen…and next time I give hand embroidery, I will actually try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

