Knitting Fail….

Remember the knitting kit I had? I didn’t forget about it. In fact, I have been attempting to follow the mock cable knit pattern for quite some time. I made 7 attempts at the pattern ,( attempts meaning getting past the first 5 rows of ribbing…) but every time I either dropped a stitch, or got to the row where it reads “Tw2B”. LOL. I need to figure outΒ  what that means, and/or watch someone do this stitch. I can’t seem to figure it out on my own with written instructions, and I cannot locate a video tutorial online, so I am considering attending the local knitting circle’s next meeting to get

After my last failed attempt, I decided to adjust the pattern to cast on only 18 st instead of 32, with hopes it will fit petite Blythe, (the originial pattern is for a male Heidi Ott doll). I did the 5 rows of ribbing, then started the mock cable stitching, and dropped the Tw2b to save myself. I later (stupidly) realized that this stitch is what changes this mini knitting from a ribbed sweater to a mock cable. Ribbed sweater is still ok. A little large for this size doll, but we are starting new trends over here ok?

I knit up as far as I felt needed for the legnth and then started to cast off to shape the arm holes. Here is where (obviously) the pattern threw me off because I had adjsted it and it sent me into a mess!….So, needless to say, I will be starting an 8th attempt soon. I do not think I can work through this one. But before I unravel it again, I wanted to share with you how far I had gotten, so that you can rest assured that I am atill trying! Practice makes perfect right? πŸ˜€

Proof of effort. πŸ™‚

Getting somewhere! πŸ™‚

You can check out my original post about my knitting adventure here.

Until next time! πŸ˜€

4 comments

  1. Kathryn Rubidoux · · Reply

    Tw2B = Knit into 2nd st on needle, then knit into first st, slipping both sts off needle together. At least, that’s how I’d read it… seriously, real cables are easier than the faux ones.

    1. You’re spot on! That’s what the instructions say everywhere, but I can’t seem to figure out how… I don’t understand how to knit into the second stitch or how I’d bring it over the first! Lmao! I need to hit up the ravelry forum for some tips I think! Or just make my own real cable pattern. πŸ˜€

  2. I always see a lot of nice things to knit. All that I can do is cast on, knit a few rows and thats it. I cannot even cast off yet. Anyway I wish I could help you but I cannot. Hope you win!
    Many hugs and kisses,
    conny

    1. Hello again Conny! Thankfully my grandmother had the patience to sit and teach me the basics of knitting. It was kind of like riding a bike, and came back easily after I picked up the needles again this year. To help me refresh, and learn new techniques I always turn to YouTube. There are hundreds of tutorial videos available! Also I’ve heard ravelry is a good community to pick up advice on.
      My best advice is never to give up! Even the best knitter in the world was not the best as soon as they picked up the needles! These types of arts take lots of dedication and practice!
      Good luck in your endeavours πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

